The most important event in the telecom sector in 2006 was the de-monopolization of the long-distance communication in the Russian Federation, as a result of which subscribers were able to choose an operator when making domestic and international long-distance calls.

That year MTT JSC was the first operator to break Rostelecom’s monopoly.

In March 2006 MTT was one of the organizers of the meeting between the Regional Communication Operators’ Association (RSS) and the RSS Commission on Telecommunications. The same year, together with the global telecom operator Teleglobe (VSNL International), МТТ was the first Russian alternative long-distance operator to establish a point of presence in Hong Kong. MTT became a full member of the Telecommunication Standardization Sector of the International Telecommunication Union (ITU-Т). Alto the company was awarded as the Leader Company within the “Best Russian Companies” competition organized by the Russian Union of Industrial Companies and Entrepreneurs (RSPP).

In 2006, MTT JSC announced the acquisition of AFK Systema’s 66% stake in the international telecom operator WaveCrest Group Enterprises Limited, which made the company a key Russian telecom operator providing international voice traffic transit service on mobile and fixed-line networks abroad.

В 2006 год был ознаменован важнейшим событием в отрасли телекоммуникаций – демонополизацией рынка дальней связи в РФ, что позволило абонентам самостоятельно выбирать оператора для звонков по России и за рубеж.

Именно в этот год компания ОАО «МТТ» стала первым оператором, разрушившим монополию «Ростелекома».

В этой связи, в марте 2006 года, компания МТТ выступила соорганизатором заседания Совета операторов электросвязи Региональное Содружество в области Связи (РСС) и Комиссии РСС по электросвязи РСС. В этом же году, в партнерстве с глобальным оператором связи компанией Teleglobe (VSNL International), МТТ стал первым российским альтернативным оператором дальней связи, организовавшим точку присутствия в Гонконге. Компания МТТ стала полноправным членом в Секторе стандартизации электросвязи Международного союза электросвязи (МСЭ-Т). Также компания победила в конкурсе «Лучшие российские предприятия» в основной номинации — «Предприятие-лидер», организатором которой стал Российский Союз Промышленников и Предпринимателей (РСПП).

В 2006 году ОАО «МТТ» сообщило о приобретении у АФК «Система» 66% акций международного телекоммуникационного оператора WaveCrest Group Enterprises Limited, став ключевым российским оператором связи, предоставляющим за рубежом услуги по международному транзиту голосового трафика в мобильных и фиксированных телефонных сетях.