In 1996 the Ministry of Communications of the RF prepared the General plan to create and gradually develop federal public networks for mobile radio-telephone communication in accordance with Russian NMT-450 standards. The plan was approved by the Board of the Ministry of Communications of the Russian Federation. In addition, Giprosvyaz JSC in cooperation with MTT experts prepared a plan to create and develop the transit network of the Russian Federation. Later the provisions of these documents laid the foundation for MTT’s developing network and its interaction with mobile providers.

By experts’ assessment, 7-8 powerful transit nodes can be built in Russia to facilitate direct exchange of information between regional mobile networks. Unlike the full integration of all networks this plan will limit the required number of digital links and reduce the length of the link between the provider and the nearest node, which will improve communication.

The first transit node was built in Moscow in 1995; the second one was built in St. Petersburg in 1996.

In the spring of 1996, 33 cities across Russia, including Nazran (Ingushetia), Kaliningrad, Omsk, Barnaul, as well as the Black Earth Region, etc. had access to automatic roaming for NMT subscribers through MTT’s network.

Providers using MTT services multiplied. By late 1996 MTT’s transit network serviced 25 NMT providers with about five thousand subscribers.

That year the first GSM operator made use of MTT services. The contract with Mobilnye TeleSystemy for the provision of long-distance communication was concluded in May 1996.

Multiregional TransitTelecom expanded its list of services. In August 1996 MTT began providing international roaming to operators of NMT-450 standard. MTT’s first signalling route appeared between Tele Danmark Mobil (Denmark) and Moskovskaya Sotovaya Svyaz (Moscow Mobile Communication) (Russia).

By late 1996 103 mobile networks had been registered in Russia, with the number of subscribers exceeding 223 thousand.

В 1996 г. в Министерстве связи РФ была подготовлена Генеральная схема создания и поэтапного развития федеральных сетей подвижной радиотелефонной связи общего пользования России стандартов NMT-450, одобренная постановлением Коллегии Минсвязи Российской Федерации. Кроме того, ОАО «Гипросвязь» совместно со специалистами МТТ подготовило Проект создания и развития транзитной сети Российской Федерации. В дальнейшем сеть МТТ и ее взаимодействие с сотовыми операторами развивалась на положениях этих документов.

Специалисты просчитали, что в России может быть построено 7 ( 8 мощных транзитных узлов, которые обеспечат рассредоточенную среду обмена информацией между региональными сотовыми сетями почти по принципу «каждый с каждым». В то же время такая схема, в отличие от реального объединения всех сетей по принципу «каждый с каждым», позволит уменьшить необходимое число цифровых каналов, сократит длину каналов между оператором и ближайшим узлом, что благотворно скажется на повышении качества связи.

Первый такой узел уже был построен в 1995 г. в Москве, в 1996 г. в сети МТТ появился второй транзитный узел, установленный в Санкт-Петербурге.

Весной 1996 г. возможности для автоматического роуминга абонентов NMT с использованием сети МТТ были доступны в 33 городах России, в том числе в Назрани (Ингушетия), Калининграде, Омске, Барнауле, а также в Черноземье и т.д.

Росло количество операторов, пользующихся услугами МТТ. К концу 1996 г. транзитная сеть МТТ обслуживала 25 операторов сетей NMT, которые насчитывали около 5 тыс. абонентов.

В этом году услугами МТТ воспользовался первый оператор GSM-связи. Договор на предоставление услуг междугородной связи был подписан с компанией «Мобильные ТелеСистемы» в мае 1996 г.

Развивались услуги, предоставляемые «Межрегиональным ТранзитТелекомом». В августе 1996 г. МТТ начал предоставление услуг по обеспечению международного роуминга операторам сетей стандарта NMT-450. Открыт первый сигнальный маршрут МТТ между компаниями Tele Danmark Mobil (Дания) и «Московская сотовая связь» (Россия).

К концу 1996 г. на территории России зарегистрировано 103 сети сотовой связи. Число абонентов этих сетей превысило 223 тыс.